Madison County Board of Zoning Appeals

The Madison County Board of Zoning Appeals is a five (5) member board appointed by the Madison County Commission to hear and decide appeals, interpret the zoning map and grant special exceptions and variances in areas outside the city . Members are appointed for a three (3) year term.

Appeals involve situations where it is alleged that there is error in any order, requirement, permit, decision or refusal made by the Zoning Administrator or any other administrative official in the carrying out or enforcement of any provision of the Zoning Ordinance. Special exceptions are uses that are not permitted outright but must be reviewed by the Board of Zoning Appeals before any work is done, such as in the case of churches and schools. Variances are where, by reason of exceptional narrowness, shallowness or shape of a specific piece of property or by reason of exceptional situation or condition, the strict application of any zoning regulation would result in undue hardship upon the owner. Thus, the individual is allowed to “vary” from the normal zoning regulations.

Below is a current listing of the members:

Harold Petty
49 Emerald Ridge Cove
Jackson, TN 38305

John Little
Waldrop and Hall P.A.
106 South Liberty Street
Jackson, TN 38301

Barbara Johnson
22 Odell Road
Jackson, TN 38301
Jev Vaughn, Chairman
Anderson-Vaughn Architects
1804 Highway 45 Bypass – Suite 618
Jackson, TN 38305
Bart Walls
Madison County Highway Commission
1529 Westover Road
Jackson, TN 38301

Alternative Members (No Expiration Date)

Joel Haynes
2995 Brownsville Highway
Jackson, TN 38301

                        William Martin
                        12 Fox Street
                        Jackson, TN 38301

Ann D. Harrell
4000 Christmasville Road
Medina, TN 38355