Jackson -Madison County Historic Zoning Commission

The Jackson-Madison County Historic Zoning Commission is a nine (9) member commission that consists of a representative of a local patriotic or historical organization, an architect, a member of the Jackson Municipal Regional Planning Commission, a member of the Jackson City Council, a member of the Madison County Commission, and the remainder are from the community in general.

The Jackson-Madison County Historic Zoning Commission is responsible for reviewing applications for the creation of historic districts and determining the appropriateness of altering or demolishing any building or structure within a designated historic district. Some examples of locally designated historic districts are the East Main Historic District, located on East Main Street between North Royal Street and N Hays Avenue, and the North Highland Historic District, located along North Highland Avenue between McCowat Street and Forest Street, just north of downtown.

Below is a current listing of the members:

Gwendolyn Merry-Coleman
105 Cherokee Drive 
Jackson, TN 38301

          Loni Harris
           c/o Mayor Jimmy Harris
           Madison County Courthouse
          100 East Main Street
          Jackson, TN 38301

Jack Wood
433 East Lafayette
Jackson, TN 38301

            Herb Slack
           404 Roland
           Jackson, TN 38301

Wayne Arnold
45 East Laurel Road
Jackson, TN 38305

            Rowland Fisher
            Jackson Energy Authority
            185 Meadow Street
            Jackson, TN 383301

Sammy West, Chairman
Hart Freeland Roberts
102 East Baltimore Street
Jackson, TN 38301

            Ann Ewing
           45 Bon Air Circle
           Jackson, TN 38301
Councilwoman Marda Wallace
56 Willow Green Drive
Jackson, TN 38305