Intelligent Transportation System Architecture – ITS

What is ITS?

Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) are the application of electronic technologies and communications to improve the operation of the transportation system. Examples include traffic detectors, cameras, dynamic message signs, and real-time information on traffic conditions and bus locations.

ITS – Intelligent Transportation System Architecture

The Jackson Regional Intelligent Transportation System (ITS) Architecture provides a long-range plan for the deployment, integration, and operation of ITS in the Jackson Region.

2015 Update

The update of the Jackson Regional ITS Architecture was led by TDOT in coordination with the Jackson Area MPO. The plan was driven by input from local, state, and federal stakeholders in the Jackson Region, including:

• City of Jackson • FHWA Tennessee Division • Jackson Energy Authority • Jackson Transit Authority • Jackson/Madison County Emergency Management Agency • Madison County • Southwest Tennessee Human Resource Agency • TDOT Region 4 • TDOT Long Range Planning Division • TDOT Traffic Operations Division.

The final update was reviewed and approved by TDOT and FHWA in June of 2015.

Regional ITS Architecture and Deployment Plan

Jackson Regional ITS Architecture Executive Summary
Jackson Regional ITS Architecture and Deployment Plan